Skip To Main Content

Arts

Celebrating Student Talent!

Our Senior Art Showcase took place on April 22, 2024 at the Norma Herzog Community Center. This is a time to honor our Senior Visual Artists with their own adjudicated Art Exhibition. Thank you to the City of Costa Mesa for their help with acquiring the facility and our Adjudicators Alisa Ochoa and Kate Ryan for providing their expertise in judging the artwork.  We are also grateful for our sponsors for donating food for our event: Newport Rib Company, Avila's El Ranchito, China Dragon , and BB Bakery for your contributions in making our event special. 

Here is a list of our Best of Category Winners for our 2024 Art Show:

Wheel thrown Ceramics Penelope Vargas- " American Gothic"

Hand Built Ceramics- Julia Gee- " Untitled" ( Soft Slab)

Printmaking- Madeline Stute- " Discorder, Transformation, & Acceptance"

Pastels- Janelle Eufracio- " Never Enough"

Mixed Media- Indie Johnson- ( no title)

Digital Design- Nam Lee- " She Changed"

Photography- Niklas Nace - " Underground Series"( black and white crowd shot)

Painting - Max Paalman-Homeless

Watercolor- Gretta Harmon- " Slow Down While You Can "

Drawing - Samantha Hernandez- " Sabotage"

 

 

 

 

DONATE AN INSTRUMENT

If you have any unused musical instruments, please contact us or your child's school for information on how to make a tax-deductible donation that can help a deserving student. Band & orchestra instruments, guitars & ukuleles, hand drums, and small percussion are all needed.

“The arts especially address the idea of aesthetic experience. An aesthetic experience is one in which your senses are operating at their peak; when you’re present in the current moment; when you’re resonating with the excitement of this thing that you’re experiencing; when you are fully alive.”
― Ken Robinson

"The world always seems brighter when you've just made something that wasn't there before."
- Neil Gaiman

"To practice any art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow. So do it."
- Kurt Vonnegut

First page of the PDF file: nmusdartshowcase_valenzuela_annabella1copy
A table with various student artworks displayed on a black cloth.
Women and men are smiling together as a group for the senior art show.
First page of the PDF file: WhittierFlyers1
A watercolor artwork is displayed on the wall next to an award ribbon that says %22Best of Watercolor.%22
Men and women are observing different artworks displayed on multiple tables covered with black cloth. One of the women is pointing at a specific table.
First page of the PDF file: Technicaltheaterpromo-3
A large sculpture is displayed among other artwork on a table covered with black cloth.
A collage of various drawings that won the Best of Mixed Media award.
Two women, one of them a student, smiling. The student is standing in front of a wall with various artwork attached to it.
Women and men are observing artwork displayed on a table covered with black cloth.
A man and a woman smiling next to each other.
A woman is using her smartphone to take pictures of artwork done by students on the wall.
A woman and three men looking at each other next to student artwork displayed on black cloth.
Two women observing student artwork displayed on a table covered with black cloth.
A unique artwork displayed on the wall.
Senior Art Show featuring students and faculty, all smiling behind artwork that says %22Senior Art Show.%22
Female and male students observing various artworks on tables covered with black cloth.
Two women at a podium, with %22Senior Art Show%22 displayed prominently in front.
Students smiling behind artwork that says %22Senior Art Show.%22

Calendar

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Mon, Apr 29
Tue, Apr 30
Thu, May 2
Sat, May 4
Sun, May 5
Mon, May 6
Tue, May 7
Wed, May 8
Thu, May 9
Sat, May 11
Sun, May 12
Mon, May 13
Tue, May 14
Wed, May 15
Thu, May 16
Fri, May 17
Sat, May 18
Sun, May 19
Mon, May 20
Tue, May 21
Wed, May 22
Thu, May 23
Fri, May 24
Sat, May 25
Sun, May 26
Mon, May 27
Tue, May 28
Wed, May 29
Thu, May 30
Fri, May 31
Sat, Jun 1
Sun, Jun 2

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • NMUSD Arts

About Us

Newport- Mesa Unified believes that every student must have access to education and opportunities in the Visual and Performing Arts. The district is divided into 4 zones, each based upon the four comprehensive high schools that our middle and elementary schools feed into. There are arts opportunities at every site for every child.

We have partnerships with the city, community organizations, and arts communities throughout Orange County. We have created venues for student performances, written grants to enhance technology and learning in the arts, and have hosted events and festivals that allow our students to shine.

.For more information about visual and performing arts programs available to your child, please visit each individual school's website. 

School Arts Pages

Contact Us


Tamara Fairbanks 
Teacher on Special Assignment