Skip To Main Content

Arts

A Wonderful New Year!

NMUSD Secondary Music began the New Year with our Instrumental Workshops that was hosted by the Fine Arts Department of Orange Coast Community College. Students in both middle school and high school enjoyed workshops on instrument technique and musicanship. The workshops provide an opportunity for our schools students from various zones to build skills and bond with one another in the arts. Thank you to our workshop consultants for their time with our students. Ken Foereck, Len Wicks, April Chocolaty,  Jonathan Schlitt,Daniel Monaghan, Marlajoy Weishershar, Rebecca Herron, Colin Hacker, and Troy Hanson for all of your expertise with our students. 

 

DONATE AN INSTRUMENT

If you have any unused musical instruments, please contact us or your child's school for information on how to make a tax-deductible donation that can help a deserving student. Band & orchestra instruments, guitars & ukuleles, hand drums, and small percussion are all needed.

“The arts especially address the idea of aesthetic experience. An aesthetic experience is one in which your senses are operating at their peak; when you’re present in the current moment; when you’re resonating with the excitement of this thing that you’re experiencing; when you are fully alive.”
― Ken Robinson

"The world always seems brighter when you've just made something that wasn't there before."
- Neil Gaiman

"To practice any art, no matter how well or badly, is a way to make your soul grow. So do it."
- Kurt Vonnegut

First page of the PDF file: CMHSDramaPoster_DrowsyChaperone
First page of the PDF file: Technicaltheaterpromo-3

Calendar

Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Sunday
Mon, Apr 1
Tue, Apr 2
Wed, Apr 3
Thu, Apr 4
Fri, Apr 5
Sat, Apr 6
Sun, Apr 7
Mon, Apr 8
Tue, Apr 9
Wed, Apr 10
Thu, Apr 11
Fri, Apr 12
Sat, Apr 13
Sun, Apr 14
Mon, Apr 15
Tue, Apr 16
Wed, Apr 17
Thu, Apr 18
Fri, Apr 19
Sat, Apr 20
Sun, Apr 21
Mon, Apr 29
Tue, Apr 30
Thu, May 2
Sat, May 4
Sun, May 5

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • NMUSD Arts

About Us

Newport- Mesa Unified believes that every student must have access to education and opportunities in the Visual and Performing Arts. The district is divided into 4 zones, each based upon the four comprehensive high schools that our middle and elementary schools feed into. There are arts opportunities at every site for every child.

We have partnerships with the city, community organizations, and arts communities throughout Orange County. We have created venues for student performances, written grants to enhance technology and learning in the arts, and have hosted events and festivals that allow our students to shine.

.For more information about visual and performing arts programs available to your child, please visit each individual school's website. 

School Arts Pages

Contact Us


Tamara Fairbanks 
Teacher on Special Assignment